>

>

>

Rethymno

Rethymno

The Rethymno region separates the capital region of Heraklion and the most western region of Crete - Chania.

 

Located between Chania and Heraklion, Rethymnon offers the greatest choice to travellers, who, due to the Rethymno's geographical position, have an equally easy access to the sights of both eastern and western parts of the island.

 

The eastern part of the Rethymnon region is occupied by the Ida mountain range. Because of this mountain this region is rightfully considered the most mountainous on the island of Crete. This mountain range includes several large peaks. Five of them rise more than 2000 meters above sea level. The peak of Timios Stavros is the highest peak of the island - Mount Psiloritis. Its height is 2456 meters above sea level. This mountain is a geographical center of Crete. There are peaks that also have a height of more than 2000 meters: Agafias (2424 m), Stolistra (2325 m), Vulumenu (2267 m), Kusakas (2209 m).

 

As for the White Mountains, the Ida Mountains are characterized by the presence of several large plateaus, gorges and caves.

The Nida Plateau is located on the eastern edge of the mountain range at an altitude of 1412 m above sea level. It is famous for the fact that in its western part there is the entrance to the large Idea cave. This cave is one of the most famous sights of Crete, because, according to ancient Greek mythology, the king of the Olympic gods - Zeus, grew up in it. The cave has an important historical significance, since many artifacts from different eras were discovered there.

 

On the southern slope of the Idea mountains, there is the entrance to the famous Kamares cave, well known among archaeologists. Perfectly preserved ceramic vessels of the Minoan era were found there, and the characteristic style of painting took the cave's name.

 

Sfendoni Cave, belonging to the Ida mountain range, is considered one of the most spectacular in Greece. Stalactites and stalagmites create an amazingly beautiful cave interior.The cave is quite big and covers the area of about 3000 square meters.

The ravines of the Rethymno region are noteworthy. The Kourtaliotiko Gorge is known as the "ravings of clapping." It is very well equipped for hiking, has the cleanest spring sources and is perfect for a hiking with the whole family.

 

The Mili Gorge is one of the easiest hiking routes, contains an abandoned village, monasteries, canyon of St. Anthony (Agios Antonios Gorge).

 

The flora of the Idea mountain range is of certain interest. It changed mainly under the influence of human activity. Today, the slopes are covered with shrubs, hard grass and shrubs. But in some places, for example, on the eastern slopes, there are preserved forests that were once represented everywhere on the island of Crete.

 

In the northern part of the region of Rethymnon there is a long sandy beach with a length of more than 15 kilometers. It starts from the town of Georgeoupoli and, crossing Rethymno, continues further east.

The southern part of the Rethymnon region boasts one of the most exotic beaches in Europe. Across Europe, there are only two beaches with wild palm trees. Both are in Crete. The largest of them is in the south of the island, in the region of Rethymno, not far from the monastery of Preveli.

Company:

Copyright © Guide4you

Services:

Contacts:

guide4youcontact@gmail.com 

   

7, Zografou, 712 01, Iraklio,

Crete, Greece

>

>

>

Ретимно

Ретимно

Регион Ретимно (Rethymno) разделяет столичный регион Ираклион и самую западную область Крита - Ханья. 

 

Находясь на одинаковом удалении от самых крупных городов этого острова, Ретимно предлагает наибольший выбор гостям Крита, которым, в силу географического положения, в равной степени доступны достопримечательности как восточной, так и западной частей.

 

Восточную часть области Ретимно занимает горный массив Ида. Именно благодаря ему данный регион по праву считается самым гористым на острове Крит. К этому горному массиву относятся несколько крупных вершин. Пять из них возвышаются более чем на две тысячи метров над уровнем моря. Вершина Тимиос-Ставрос содержит в себе самый высокий пик острова — гору Псилоритис. Ее высота 2456 метров над уровнем моря. Эта гора является своеобразным географическим центром Крита. Так же высоту более 2000 метров имеют вершины: Агафиас (2424 м), Столистра (2325 м), Вулумену (2267 м), Кусакас (2209 м).

 

Как и для «Белых Гор», для Горного массива Ида характерно наличие нескольких крупных плато, ущелий и пещер.

Плато Нида расположено на восточной окраине горного массива на высоте 1412 м. над уровнем моря. Знаменито оно тем, что в западной его части представлен вход в крупную Идейскую пещеру. Эта пещера является одной из наиболее известных достопримечательностей Крита, поскольку, согласно древнегреческой мифологии, в ней вырос царь олимпийских богов — Зевс. Пещера имеет важное историческое значение, так как в ней было обнаружено множество артефактов, относящихся к разным эпохам.

 

На южном склоне Идейских гор представлен вход в известнейшую среди археологов пещеру Камарес. В ней были найдены прекрасно сохранившиеся керамические сосуды минойской эпохи. Характерный стиль росписи керамики получил свое название в честь данной пещеры.

 

Пещера Сфендони, относящаяся к Идейскому горному массиву считается одной из самых зрелищных в Греции. Сталактиты и сталагмиты создают удивительной красоты пространство пещеры. Ее площадь около 3000 кв метров.

Обращают на себя внимание колоритные ущелья области Ретимно. Ущелье Курталиотико (Kourtaliotiko Gorge) известно под названием "ущелья хлопающих аплодисментов". Оно очень хорошо оборудовано для пеших прогулок, располагает чистейшими родниковыми источниками и прекрасно подходит для отдыха всей семьей.

 

Ущелье Мили (Mili Gorge) часто называют "ущельем мельниц". Является одним из самых легких пеших маршрутов, содержит в себе заброшенную деревушку, монастыри, каньон Св. Антония (Agios Antonios Gorge).

 

Флора Идейского горного массива представляет определенный интерес. Она изменялась в основном под влиянием деятельности человека. Сегодня склоны покрыты кустарниками, жесткой травой и полукустарниками. Но кое-где, например на восточных склонах, и по сей день сохраняются участки леса, который некогда был представлен повсеместно на острове Крит.

 

В северной части области Ретимно находится длинный песчаный пляж, протяженностью более пятнадцати километров. Он начинается от городка Георгеруполи и, пересекая Ретимно, продолжается дальше на восток. 

Южная часть области Ретимно может похвастать одним из самых экзотичных пляжей Европы. Во всей Европе представлены лишь два пляжа с дикорастущими финиковыми пальмами. Оба находятся на Крите. Самый большой из них — на юге острова, в области Ретимно, недалеко от монастыря Превели.