>

>

Geography of Crete

Geography of Crete

Crete is the largest Greek island. It is home to more than six hundred thousand people. Geographically, it includes eighty-four more satellite islands that form an archipelago - a group of islands centered on Crete.

 

On many of these patches of land, monuments of the most outstanding events of various historical eras have been perfectly preserved. Ancient monasteries, churches that forced the period of early Christianity, the majestic walls of medieval castles, amazing natural attractions, the richest sea world, all this allows you to fully plunge into the Mediterranean world, enjoy its brightness and diversity.

 

The archipelago also includes the islet of Gavdos, located thirty kilometers south of Crete. It is the only one, escept of Crete itself, of course, which is inhabited and famous for being the southernmost point of Europe. This fact attracts many guests to this island, whose population is less than a hundred people.

 

Administratively, Crete is divided into four areas (from west to east):

 

  • Chania. The most western region of the island, with the capital in the city of the same name.

  • Rethymno is located east of the city of Chania. The capital of this area is the city of Rethymno.

  • Heraklion. The largest region of Crete. The city of Heraklion is the official capital of the island.

  • Lassithi. The easternmost region of Crete, known for its high plateau. The capital of the region is the city of Agios Nikolaos.

 

All four capitals of the regions of Crete are located on the northern coast of the island. This is the most convenient location in terms of maritime communications between Crete and other Greek islands, as well as the continental part of the country.

Company:

Copyright © Guide4you

Services:

Contacts:

guide4youcontact@gmail.com 

   

7, Zografou, 712 01, Iraklio,

Crete, Greece

>

>

География Крита

География Крита

Крит — самый крупный греческий остров. Он является домом более чем для шестисот тысяч человек. Территориально к нему относятся еще восемьдесят четыре островка-спутника, которые образуют архипелаг — группу островов с центром на Крите.

 

На многих из этих клочков суши прекрасно сохранились памятники ярчайших событий самых разных исторических эпох. Древние монастыри, церквушки, заставшие период раннего христианства, величественные стены средневековых замков, удивительные природные достопримечательности, богатейший морской мир, все это позволяет полностью окунуться в средиземноморский мир, насладиться его яркостью и разнообразием.

 

К архипелагу относится так же островок Гавдос (Gavdos), расположенный в тридцати километрах южнее Крита. Он единственный из всех его спутников обитаем и знаменит тем, что является самой южной точкой Европы. Этот факт привлекает множество гостей на данный остров, население которого менее ста человек.

 

Административно Крит делится на четыре области (с запада на восток):

 

  • Ханья (Chania) Самая западная область острова, со столицей в одноименном городе.

  • Ретимно (Rethymno) Находится к востоку от города Ханья. Столицей этой области является город Ретимно.

  • Ираклион (Heraklion) Наиболее крупная область Крита. Город Ираклион является официальной столицей острова.

  • Лассити (Lassithi) Самая восточная область Крита, известная своими высокогорными плато. Столица области - город Агиос Николаос (Agios Nikolaos).

 

Все четыре столицы областей Крита расположены на северном побережье острова. Это наиболее удобная дислокация с точки зрения осуществления морского сообщения между Критом и другими греческими островами, а так же континентальной частью страны.