>

>

>

Byzantine period

Byzantine period

The Byzantine Period

The Byzantine period in Crete begins after the death of Emperor Theodosius the Great in 395, when the Roman Empire falls into two parts. Crete became a part of  its eastern part, better known as Byzantium.

The “calling card" of this period is the gradual penetration of the Christian Faith on the island.

 

Crete continues to be a major religious, commercial and cultural center. It is also the most important strategic point, an outpost of the Byzantine Empire in the Eastern Mediterranean.

However, it is also impossible to call this time a period of cloudless prosperity. The whole Western world suffered from the incessant raids of the barbarians, who did not deprive Crete of their attention. Constantinople, due to the vast size of the empire, could not always respond in a timely manner to an external threat, especially in such remote areas.

 

In 457, the Vandal tribe invaded Crete, and in 623 the Slavs. The pirate raids of the Spanish Arabs, which in 824 ended with the complete capture of the island, also posed a significant threat.

 

Arabs destroyed the capital of Crete Gortina and built a fortification on the north coast. In fact, it was an earthen rampart with a moat surrounding it. In Arabic, this type of fortification is called "Handak", which gave the name to the city that appeared on this site.

 

However, Byzantium was not going to put up with the loss of such a valuable island. Four times Byzantine emperors equipped expeditions to Crete, but only the latter was successful. It was headed by the future emperor Nikephoros II Phokas. At the head of an army of 7,200 soldiers and 5,000 horsemen in 250 ships, he arrived in Crete in 960 AD. As a result of fierce clashes, the Arabs managed to expel from the island. Almost the entire population of Handak was slaughtered by the Byzantines, and the city was destroyed.

 

However, under the Byzantines, Handak was rebuilt again and received the name "Handaks". Christianity is beginning to revive on the island, new temples are being built, Crete is once again returning the lost position of the Byzantine outpost in the Eastern Mediterranean.

 

The beginning of the second millennium in Europe was marked by a series of military campaigns in the Holy Land. The Crusades shook the whole Western world, and in 1204, as part of the 4th Crusade led by Boniface II, Marquess of Montferrat, the capital of the Byzantine Empire, Constantinople, was also captured. This event was a turning point in the history of Crete, because after the division of Byzantium, the island, like many other territories, moved to the Republic of Venice.

 

From 1204, in Crete the Venetian period of history begins.

Company:

Copyright © Guide4you

Services:

Contacts:

guide4youcontact@gmail.com 

   

7, Zografou, 712 01, Iraklio,

Crete, Greece

>

>

>

Византийский период

Византийский период

ВИЗАНТИЙСКИЙ ПЕРИОД ИСТОРИИ НА КРИТЕ

Византийский период на Крите начинается после смерти императора Феодосия Великого в 395 году, когда Римская империя распадается на две части. К восточной её части, более известной под именем Византия, и отошёл Крит.

«Визитной карточкой» данного периода можно назвать постепенное проникновение христианской веры на остров.

 

Крит продолжает оставаться крупным религиозным, торговым и культурным центром. Он так же является важнейшим стратегическим пунктом, форпостом Византийской империи в Восточном Средиземноморье.

Однако, назвать это время периодом безоблачного благоденствия тоже нельзя. Весь западный мир страдал от непрекращающихся набегов варваров, которые не обделили своим вниманием и Крит. Константинополь же, из-за огромных размеров империи, не всегда мог своевременно отреагировать на внешнюю угрозу, особенно в таких удалённых районах.

 

В 457 году на Крит вторглось племя вандалов, а в 623 – славяне. Существенную угрозу представляли и пиратские рейды испанских арабов, которые в 824 году окончились полным захватом острова.

 

Арабы разрушили столицу Крита Гортину и построили укрепление на северном побережье. По сути, это был земляной вал с окружавшим его рвом. По-арабски данный вид фортификации называется «Хандак», что дало имя появившемуся на этом месте городу.

 

Тем не менее, Византия не собиралась мириться с утратой такого ценного острова. Четыре раза Византийские императоры снаряжали экспедиции на Крит, но лишь последняя увенчалась успехом. Возглавил её будущий император Никифор Фока. Во главе войска из 7200 пехотинцев и 5000 всадников на 250 кораблях он прибыл на Крит в 960 году. В результате ожесточённых столкновений арабов удалось изгнать с острова. Практически всё население Хандака было вырезано византийцами, а город разрушен.

 

Тем не менее,  при византийцах Хандак был отстроен вновь и получил имя «Хандакс». На острове начинает возрождаться христианство, строятся новые храмы, Крит вновь возвращает утраченные позиции византийского форпоста в Восточном Средиземноморье.

 

Начало второго тысячелетия в Европе было отмечено серией военных походов в Святую Землю. Крестовые походы сотрясали весь Западный мир, а в 1204 году в рамках 4-го крестового похода под предводительством Бонифация Монферратского была захвачена и столица Византийской Империи – Константинополь. Данное событие стало поворотным в истории Крита, поскольку после раздела Византии он, как и многие другие территории, отошёл Венецианской Республике.

 

С 1204 года на Крите начинается Венецианский период истории.